Yes - Yes (1969)

The Yes debut is mightily impressive. Today it seems even more creative when one looks back at their recorded history and how they continually developed with each album. This is where their foundation was set and everything that happened subsequently comes back to this fine recording.

Jon Anderson and Chris Squire melded their vocals in sparkling fashion in all of these songs. The melody and rhythm of tracks like “Every Little Thing” and “Dear Father” are an indication of what fruit the future would bear for this legendary band. Their ability to mix progressive sounds with pop would prove to be their strongest asset and it still is today.

The freshness and clarity of the sound on this version is outstanding, just as every other remaster I have heard thus far from the Yes catalog is. With a generous helping of bonus tracks (six), the listener gets a glimpse of different versions of tracks while listening to the developmental stages of each like never before. That can be the most rewarding aspect of bonus tracks when they are chosen with discriminating care as they are on this CD. This is the best place to start if you are purchasing all the remasters, although I did it in a different order, the impact was just as powerful. - Review by Muzikman (Keith Hannaleck)

Track Listings

1. Beyond and Before (4:50)
2. I See You (6:33)
3. Yesterday and Today (2:37)
4. Looking Around (3:49)
5. Harold Land (5:26)
6. Every Little Thing (5:24)
7. Sweetness (4:19)
8. Survival (6:01)

Total Time: 38:59

Bonus tracks on Elektra remaster (2003):
9. Everydays (single version) (6:23)
10. Dear Father (early version #2) (5:51)
11. Something's Coming (7:08)
12. Everydays (early version) (5:18)
13. Dear Father (early version #1) (5:31)
14. Something's Coming (early version) (8:02)

- Jon Anderson / vocals
- Chris Squire / bass and vocals
- Tony Kaye / keyboards
- Bill Bruford / drums
- Peter Banks / guitars
Releases information

LP Atlantic (UK) K40034 (1969)
CD Elektra Entertainment 73786 (2003 remaster)

* pedido orkut

0 Audições:

Postagem mais recente Postagem mais antiga Página inicial