Yes - 90125 (1983)

Started as a new band called Cinema, with trevor Rabin on guitars and the former Yes members Chris Squire, Tony Kaye and Allan White, it was only logical they transformed their name to Yes, when Jon Anderson joined, but their music bore little resemblence to the music we had grown to know as Yes music. Still progressive rock, but with a complete new direction focussed more on mainstream rock, with compositions being more straight forward, comparable to bands like Queen (News Of The World/The Works), Genesis (Invisible Touch), Asia (debut), Rush (late 70's early 80's period), but maintaining some progressive influences, and still recognisable as Yes. They made a smash-hit with Owner Of A Lonely Heart and for many people outside the progressive rock community Yes's best work to date is 90125.

the music is not completely unlike Yes, on Tormato they already started with their transition to more Radio-friendly progressive rock (Release, Release), and also Drama was a prelude for the new direction they were taking. The new guitarist, the south African trevor Rabin had a huge influence on the direction and music of the new Yes, and on this record it works fabulously, also the return of Tony Kaye to Yes works out great.

Basicly 90125 sounds like classic rock, with intelligent writing and very skillfull excecution of the songs. Core elements on the album are Jon's distinct vocals, combined with Chris/Trevor additional vocal lines, Heavy Brian May influenced guitar style, strong bass and drums, and great organ'keyboard play from Tony Kaye.

The album has no bad songs, the best songs include the hitsingle Owner Of A Lonely Heart, The progressive art rock of Changes, Hearts and Cinema, the first two are ballad like songs, while Cinema is a 2 minute instrumental. It Can Happen, and the other songs are all very good also.

If you expect something similar to Yes's early 70's albums, you might feel cheated, but when approached with an open mind, there surely is some good rock to be enjoyed. Rewarded with 4 stars, but only because it's not as progressive as their early years, but not really less good, just different.

Recommended, with a little warning for the prog-purists. - Review by tuxon (Gerald)

Track Listings

1. Owner Of A Lonely Heart (4:27)
2. Hold On (5:15)
3. It Can Happen (5:39)
4. Changes (6:16)
5. Cinema (2:09)
6. Leave It (4:10)
7. Our Song (4:16)
8. City Of Love (4:48)
9. Hearts (7:34)

Total Time: 44:34
Bonus Tracks:
10. Leave It (Single Remix) (3:56)
11. Make It Easy (6:12)
12. It Can Happen (Cinema Version) (6:05)
13. It's Over (5:41)
14. Owner Of A Lonely Heart (Extended Remix) (7:05)
15. Leave It ('A Capella' Version) (3:18)

Total Time: 77:02

- Jon Anderson / vocals
- Chris Squire / bass & vocals
- Tony Kaye / keyboards
- Alan White / drums
- Trevor Rabin / guitars & vocals
Releases information

LP Atco 7 90125-2 (1983)
CD Rhino Records R2 73796 (2004)


0 Audições:

Postagem mais recente Postagem mais antiga Página inicial