Yes - The Yes Album (1971)

"The Yes Album" é o terceiro álbum e o primeiro grande sucesso do Yes. Dá início a uma fase de grandes obras do progressivo como "Fragile" e "Close to the edge". Esse traz sucessos memoráveis da banda como "Starship trooper", sempre tocada nos shows em versões delirantes, além de "I've seen all good people", com o seu refrão pegajoso. A formação deste álbum é uma das preferidas dos fãs: Jon Anderson (vocal), Chris Squire (baixo), Steve Howe (guitarra), Bill Bruford (bateria) e Tony Kaye (teclados), sendo este último substituido a partir do álbum seguinte pelo famoso Rick Wakeman. Trata-se de um álbum insdispensável para se conhecer a melhor fase do Yes.

"The Yes Album" just comes before "Fragile" and "Close to the Edge". The album is much more a conventional catchy prog/rock/hard rock of the early 70's. Tony Kaye, on keyboards, is VERY efficient, although less refined than Wakeman. Compared to the previous records, the arrival of Steve Howe on guitars here give some depth to the melodies, and we feel the good direction taken to the magnificent 2 next albums. Howe plays excellent rythmic acoustic guitars, and he shows his unbelievable talent on the acoustic "Clap" track. The musicians often play on the border of the hard rock style. The record is very original because of the omnipresent prog flavour, as revealed by the numerous rythm changes. The lead & backing vocals are, as always, unforgettable and impressive. Squire's bass is very bottom and elaborated. Bruford's drums are very good too.

Track Listings

1. Yours Is No Disgrace (9:36)
2. The Clap (3:07)
3. Starship Trooper: Life Seeker / Disillusion... (9:23)
4. I've Seen All Good People: Your Move / All... (6:47)
5. A Venture (3:13)
6. Perpetual Change (8:50)

Total Time: 41:56

Bonus tracks on Elektra remaster (2003):
7. Your Move (single version) (2:59)
8. Starship Trooper: Life Seeker (single version) (3:27)
9. Clap (studio version) (4:01)


- Jon Anderson / percussion, vocals
- Bill Bruford / percussion, drums
- Steve Howe / guitar (acoustic), guitar, guitar (electric), vocals
- Chris Squire / bass, guitar (bass), vocals
- Tony Kaye / organ, synthesizer, piano, keyboards, Moog synthesizer
- Colin Goldring / recorder

Releases information

LP Atlantic (UK) K40106 (1971)
CD Atlantic Recording Corporation 7567-82665-2
Digitally remastered by Joe Gastwirt at Ocean View Digital for "Newly Digitally Remastered From The Original Master Tapes" serie
CD Elektra 73788 (2003 remaster)


0 Audições:

Postagem mais recente Postagem mais antiga Página inicial